Free State gives ANC another Secretary General

Politics/ 19 December 2022, 18:34pm / Mandla Nkosi

Newly-elected ANC secretary-general Fikile Mbalula: image supplied

Johannesburg: Newly-elected ANC secretary-general, and outgoing Transport Minister Fikile Mbalula has emphasised that the Free State is also represented in the top echelons of the ANC.

“(You say) the Top 7 is dominated by Gauteng? I don’t know what that means….I am from the Free State. I also came here in Gauteng because of the ANC mission but home is the Free State. I come from Botshabelo – L Section… My late mother stayed in Bloemfontein. My origin is Botshabelo. I come from that big township – the third largest in the country but before I got to that township I came from the farm. So I’m a farm boy … I was born on a farm outside Bloemfontein…”

He made the remarks on Monday night, hours after results of the ANC’s top seven were announced.

He was responding to a media question about representation in the party.

Mbalula replaces Ace Magashule who was suspended from the ANC in May 2021 over charges of fraud, corruption, theft and money-laundering for his alleged role in the Free State asbestos audit scandal.

Several attempts to appeal his suspension failed with the Constitutional Court in August this year dismissing his application to revoke an earlier court decision to uphold his suspension.

Despite Mbalula’s assertions, Gauteng has seemingly dominated with four of the top 7 ANC leaders originating from Gauteng.

President-elect Cyril Ramaphosa was born in Chiawelo, Soweto, first deputy secretary-general Nomvula Mokonyane hails from Kagiso, east of Johannesburg, treasurer-general Gwen Ramokgopa from Atteridgeville and deputy President Paul Mashatile grew up in Alexandra township and cultivated his political career from there.

Meanwhile Cyril Ramaphosa has secured his second term as president of the ANC with a significant victory over challenger Zweli Mkhize.

Despite a late surge by Mkhize in the days leading up to the vote, held at the ANC’s 55th national conference in Johannesburg, and discord among Ramaphosa’s supporters over who would stand on his slate, Ramaphosa took 2 436 votes ahead of Mkhize’s 1 897.

For the position of deputy president, Paul Mashatile, the outgoing treasurer general, beat Ronald Lamola (315) and Oscar Mabuyane (1 858) with 2 178 votes.

In the vote for national chairperson, incumbent Gwede Mantashe (2 062) narrowly beat off a challenge from Stan Mathabatha (2 018). The third contender, David Masondo, got 282 votes.

Fikile Mbalula won the battle for secretary general with 1 692 votes, beating Phumulo Masualle (1 590) and Mdumiseni Ntuli who garnered 1 080.

Nomvula Mokonyane won the position of first deputy secretary general with 2 195 votes, beating Tina Joemat-Pettersson. Maropene Ramokgopa was successful in her bid to become second deputy secretary general with 2 373 votes. She beat Ronalda Nalumango who took 1 948 votes.

Gwen Ramokgopa, another of Ramaphosa’s allies, took the post of treasurer general with 1 809 votes, beating Pule Mabe (1 652), Bejani Chauke (590) and Mzwandile Masina 281.

The result is a huge boost for the embattled Ramaphosa and his supporters, who took five of the seven available portfolios.

The conference delegates also elected (80)National Executive Committee members, which is mainly dominated by young people.

1 Zikalala Sihle M

2 Manana Mduduzi M

3 Lamola Ronald M

4 Ntuli Mdumiseni M

5 Cele Bheki M

6 Mchunu Senzo M

7 Gigaba Malusi M

8 Mabe Pule M

9 Kodwa Zizi M

10 Makhura David M

11 Lungisa Andile M

12 Kubayi Mmamoloko F

13 Joemat-Pettersson Tina F

14 Ndabeni-Abrahams Stella F

15 Nkadimeng Thembi F

16 Mkhize Zweli M

17 Lekganyane Soviet M

18 Potgieter Febe F

19 Godongwana Enoch M

20 Besani Sibongile M

21 Kekana Pinky F

22 Manamela Buti M

23 Mahlobo David M

24 Mathale Cassel M

25 Majodina Pemmy F

26 Zulu Lindiwe F

27 Motsoaledi Aaron M

28 Diko Khusela F

29 Dlamini Bathabile F

30 Masualle Phumulo M

31 Masina Mzwandile M

32 Modise Thandi F

33 Dlamini-Zuma Nkosazana F

34 Gungubele Mondli M

35 Didiza Thoko F

36 Tau Parks M

37 Bapela Obed M

38 Mahumapelo Supra M

39 Maswanganyi Joe M

40 Mahambehlala Tandi F

41 Masondo David M

42 Madikizela Babalo M

43 Kiviet Noxolo F

44 Nzuza Njabulo M

45 Masemola Dickson M

46 Nkabane Nobuhle F

47 Nkonyeni Peggy F

48 Creecy Barbara F

49 Ramokgopa Kgosientsho Sputla M

50 Ntshavheni Khumbudzo F

51 Phaahla Joe M

52 Sisulu Lindiwe F

53 Boshielo Polly F

54 Godlimpi Zuko M

55 Mhlauli Nonceba F

56 Makwetla Thabang M

57 Kekana Nkenke  M

58 Selamolela Donald M

59 Xaba Cyril M

60 Chikunga Sindisiwe  F

61 Legoete Dakota M

62 Chauke Bejani M

63 Ntshalintshali Lindiwe F

64 Gcabashe Lungi F

65 Mafu Nocawe F

66 Nalumango Ronalda F

67 Pule Dina F

68 Maimela Joy F

69 Motshekga Angie F

70 Bhengu Mahlengi F

71 Tshwete Pam F

72 Letsatsi-Duba Dipuo F

73 Mtshweni-Tsipane Refilwe F

74 Meth Nomakhosazana F

75 Muthambi Faith F

76 Capa Nokuzola Zoleka F

77 Tolashe Sisisi F

78 Mhaule Reginah F

79 Siwela Violet F

80 Moraka Thandi F


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: